Scuba Shark

Kelly Tarlton’s Sea Life Aquarium was a great place to go to since I love animals and water! This is another place I went to while in New Zealand.

100_3115

Bus that takes people to and from the aquarium

The aquarium in located in old sewage tanks underneath the road along the shoreline. Kelly Tarlton was an archeologist and diver who came up with this great idea of making such a large aquarium. If you ever plan on traveling to New Zealand, I recommend that you go to this aquarium. Not only is it an amazing experience it has a great history behind the building and aquarium itself.
I love water and swimming. Before I left for my trip to NZ, I decided that I wanted to do something crazy and super fun while I was there. With this being said, I went scuba diving with sharks at the aquarium. This was one of the most amazing experiences that I have done. I would do it again in a heartbeat if I could.
In the tank I swam with four different types of sharks and a large stink ray. The four sharks I swam with are pictured below.

I was lucky enough have my relative video the entire experience! When I came home from the trip I showed the video to my family. My brother said, “Holy cow, I would never do that. You are crazy! Wasn’t it scary?” I have gotten this question a lot. I was kinda nervous when we first got into the water, but I was fine after I went under. It is so great getting to see the sharks, sting ray and fish up so close.

100_2990100_3003

 

Before this trip I have been snorkeling at Discovery Cove in Florida- which was so much. While there I was able to be up close to the fish and a sting ray but the sharks were behind enclosed glass (so I didn’t get the rush like I did when I was in NZ swimming with the sharks).

100_2975
Learning to use the scuba gear was really fun. At first it was weird having the goggles that cover my nose up. I usually never where goggles under water and when I do I never wear the ones that cover my nose. It bugged me for a while, and I wasn’t the only one.

 

The Moore You Travel–Your Next Adventure is Waiting!

One thought on “Scuba Shark

  1. That would be so cool to be able to swim with the sharks let alone just scuba diving. I have never been to a coast at all in my life so that is one thing I would like to do but to be able to swim with the sharks would just top it all. Any places other than New Zealand you would recommend to scuba dive? And in your opinion which shark was the coolest to swim with?

Leave a comment