Hobbiton

100_3381

The Lord of the Rings movies have always been interesting and fun to watch! I have always wanted to go into a hobbit house and see what they are really like. At the beginning of this summer I had the chance to go and see what the Hobbiton Movie Set is like in New Zealand.

View from the Shire of the Golden Dragon

View from the Shire of the Golden Dragon

My friend and I took a bus tour to the movie set. We took a Gray Line Tour and then switched buses to the Hobbiton buses. The bus was even hobbit. After arriving at the entry of the Hobbit movie set area. We took a walking tour through the Shire and on down to the Golden Dragon to finish off the tour.

 

Not only is the movie set out in someones sheep pasture, it is surrounded by amazing landscapes of the beautiful New Zealand hills.

View of Bilbo Baggins hobbit hole Photo By Robin Moore

View of Bilbo Baggins hobbit hole Photo By Robin Moore

It was so interesting to actually be able to go and see the hobbit holes. I think that living in a rounded house would be awesome! Not only could I pretend to be a hobbit, but it would be unique to have a hobbit home.

The Moore You Travel–Your Next Adventure Is Waiting!

2 thoughts on “Hobbiton

  1. This is an amazing experience! I am a LOTR fan and that all began by me reading The Hobbit quite a few years before the movies even came out! I love the hobbit houses! What a beautiful area to visit! I also think it would be pretty neat to have a hobbit hole type of house. It would be so unique. I am not sure if I could make it my actual house, but to have one in a field somewhere outside my “normal” house would be so much fun!

    • Yes, it was amazing! I cannot believe I had a the chance to go-but I am so glad I went. I agree that having a little hobbit house would be cool. I also think it would be fun to make it into a play house or something like that.

Leave a comment